Gluten-free Effer-K

A short time ago I was contacted by a customer who wanted to know if Effer-K contains gluten. Obviously, a person on a gluten-free diet, needs to know if the medication she is taking contains gluten. And because there is a growing number of people choosing or requiring a gluten-free diet1, I wanted to let our customers know if Effer-K contains gluten.

There is a great deal of debate as to whether gluten should be avoided by all people or just those with gluten intolerance. While certain people may choose a gluten-free diet because they believe it is unhealthy for them, a person with gluten intolerance must follow this diet to avoid an adverse reaction. There are varying degrees of sensitivity to gluten in people who suffer from gluten intolerance. The most severe form of gluten intolerance is celiac disease. People with celiac disease will need to adhere to a strict gluten-free diet, including the avoidance of gluten in their medications.2

While the Celiac Disease Foundation states there is an extremely small chance of getting a medication that contains gluten, they recommend you evaluate the ingredients of all medications to eliminate any risk. Since Effer-K does not contain gluten, it is safe to take if you have gluten intolerance.


1) http://national.deseretnews.com/article/2724/the-growing-popularity-of-gluten-free-food-will-it-last.html
2) https://celiac.org/celiac-disease/treating-celiac-disease/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Back to Top